Network Licences

The current energy network licence holders in Ireland are: ESB Networks, EirGrid and Gas Networks Ireland. Network licence holders are granted their licence under section 14 (1) of the Electricity Regulation Act 1999,  & section 16 (1) of the Gas Act 2002. All energy network licence holders have strict compliance requirements and reporting obligations which must be met under the terms of their licence. Where necessary the CRU may seek to revoke the licence under section 24 Act.


Authorisation to Construct and Licence to Generate

If you are granted an Authorisation to Construct or Reconstruct or a Licence to Generate, you are subject to compliance assurance and submission measures by the CRU. Guidance notes for licence holders are available here.

A person who constructs or reconstructs a generating station without an Authorisation is liable to a fine of up to €100,000. These powers are set out in legislation which you can see here.  

Similarly, a person who generates electricity without a Licence to do so is guilty of an offence and liable of a fine up to €1,904 or to imprisonment for a term of up to 12 months, or both. These powers are set out in legislation, which you can see here.