office workers smiling


The SEMC is the decision-making authority for all Single Electricity Market (SEM) matters. The principal objective of the SEMC is to protect the interests of consumers of electricity wherever appropriate by promoting effective competition.

The Committee consist of two Commission for Regulation of Utilities (CRU) and three Utility Regulator (UR) representatives along with an independent and a deputy independent member.

Mr Jonathan Hodgkin has been appointed to serve as the Independent member and Dr Chris Harris has been appointed to serve as the Deputy Independent member for a five-year period from 1st November 2022.

The new appointments come as both Independent member Odd Håkon Hoelsæter and Deputy Independent member, Professor David Newbery step down from their roles following the successful completion of their tenures as required under legislation.

The current Chair of the SEM Committee is Dr. Paul McGowan.